slow down, you crazy child.

I begged every year, and I mean every year, for tickets to a Billy Joel concert for my birthday. I didn’t care if he was in China. I. wanted. tickets.

Aside from being convinced I was going to marry him (also add Andre Agassi and George Micheal to this list), I loved his music. I still love his music. I remember falling in love with him when “River of Dreams” came out. I memorized every song on that CD. I sang it in the car with my mom. I found all of his other songs and I memorized them too. I became re-interested in my piano lessons because I wanted to play like him.

And some years ago, when he toured in Connecticut, I spent an absurd amount of money on concert tickets for myself and my friend Kristi. Floor seats. (I nearly destroyed my laptop in frustration over Ticketmaster’s shenanigans). I called my mom when he sang “River of Dreams” and held the phone up so she could hear it. And I cried like a giant fangirl because I LOVE HIM SO HARD.

Last week, my darling friend Anna asked me what my all-time favorite song ever ever ever was. Without hestitation, I answered, “Vienna”. (A close second is Downeaster Alexa, because I have this weird fantasy of marrying a fisherman and living off the land in Cape Cod and shopping at grocery stores with $11 butter and where I know the bread guy by name and he puts my artisan loaf on my tab– I blame Ina Garten and Deadliest Catch in some weird combination, but I digress…)

Anyways, Vienna. This song is the best reality check in musical form. As quick as we raised our options for Malawian adoption, they were dashed by the reality of it being a battle we are ill-equipped and positioned to face. We are lucky enough to have a local agency that feels as right as international adoption.

And when Anna played this song for me, speakers loud and notes clear– the message of each and every note resonated with every overwhelming thought I had.

Vienna- Billy Joel

Slow down you crazy child
You’re so ambitious for a juvenile
But then if you’re so smart tell me,
Why are you still so afraid? (mmmmm)

Where’s the fire, what’s the hurry about?
You better cool it off before you burn it out
You got so much to do and only
So many hours in a day (Ay)

But you know that when the truth is told
That you can get what you want
Or you can just get old
You’re gonna kick off before you even get halfway through (Oooh)
When will you realize… Vienna waits for you?

Slow down you’re doing fine
You can’t be everything you want to be before your time
Although it’s so romantic on the borderline tonight (tonight)

Too bad, but it’s the life you lead
You’re so ahead of yourself that you forgot what you need
Though you can see when you’re wrong
You know you can’t always see when you’re right (you’re right)

You got your passion, you got your pride
But don’t you know that only fools are satisfied?
Dream on, but don’t imagine they’ll all come true (Oooh)
When will you realize… Vienna waits for you?

Slow down you crazy child
Take the phone off the hook and disappear for a while
It’s alright, you can afford to lose a day or two (oooh)
When will you realize… Vienna waits for you?

And you know that when the truth is told
That you can get what you want or you can just get old
You’re gonna kick off before you even get halfway through (oooh)
Why don’t you realize… Vienna waits for you?

When will you realize… Vienna waits for you?

Leave a Reply

